Belgium,officially the Kingdom of Belgium, is situated in the west of Europe, bordered by the Netherlands to the north, Germany to the east, Luxembourg to the southeast, France to the southwest, and the North Sea to the northwest.


Belgium is still quite young, independence was only declared in 1830. The rich history of the country has contributed to the diversity, openness, character and strength of Belgium today. The capital and largest city is Brussels; other major cities are Antwerp, Ghent, Charleroi, Liège, Bruges, Namur, and Leuven.


Belgium has a lot to offer to tourists with three major areas: lower Belgium, central Belgium and upper Belgium. The country is divided into three highly autonomous regions: Flanders in the north, Wallonia in the south, and the Brussels-Capital Region. Brussels is the smallest and most densely populated region.


Temperatures are relatively mild during the whole year with the average low at 1°C in winter and only 23°C in summer. Winds tend to be slightly stronger in winter but the most constant weather pattern would be rainfall. The best time to visit Belgium is between April and June or September – October. The spring and fall weather is absolutely stunning and will definitely leave you feeling refreshed. High season in Belgium is during the summer months between July – August.